Sunday Update: A Weekend in Tokyo

A quick note to let you know what’s coming up on No Wrong Turns. Next weekend I’ll be travelling to Tokyo and visiting some friends. Whenever I visit cities I like to check out all the coffee shops and parks, I’ll be sharing my recommendations for the best coffee and green spaces in Tokyo here. (I’m also determined to find the best view of the Tokyo skyline — pray for clear skies!) In the meantime I’ll be posting about walking a section of the Nakasendo trail, an old road that connected Kyoto and Tokyo, later this week. Here’s some of my favorite shots from a weekend in Tokyo last December.

Meiji Shrine, Tokyo
Meiji Shrine in Tokyo

Meiji Shrine is one of the main tourist sites in Tokyo, but it’s big enough that the crowds don’t feel too overwhelming. Pay a few hundred yen and get some extra solitude in the botanical garden in the center of the park.

Meiji Shrine, Tokyo
Meiji Shrine in Tokyo
Streamer Coffee Company, Tokyo
Streamer Coffee Company, Tokyo

The best coffee from my December trip: Streamer Coffee Company. This shot was the location in Shibuya, but there are several locations throughout Tokyo. I also visited the shop in Osaka and the drinks were consistently good!

and people, Tokyo
and people Cafe, Shibuya

This restaurant is called and people Cafe and it has some of the most charming decor in Tokyo. Grab the tiny table on a balcony if you can!

What do you think? Comment and questions here!

